Leon Vynehall Announces Ninja Tune Debut ‘Nothing Is Still’

UK producer Leon Vynehall has revealed that his Ninja Tune debut ‘Nothing Is Still’ will be released on 15th June.

Leon Vynehall made his name as a dancefloor-friendly house producer and DJ on the back of 2014’s critically acclaimed EP ‘Music for the Uninvited’ and 2016’s ‘Rojus’ EP. His upcoming release for Ninja Tunes is likely to prove to be a much more subtle, intricate affair.

The label describes Vynehall’s full-length debut as “defiantly atmospheric and textural”, drawing on inspiration from composers such as Philip Glass and Terry Riley. The album features guest musicians and live instrumentation, including a ten-piece string section alongside saxophones, flutes and piano.

In announcing the new album via Twitter, Vynehall shared a clip of the track ‘Envelopes (Chapter VI)’, introducing listeners to the project’s all together more downtempo, ambient sound. ‘Envelopes’ begins with the sound of footsteps, rain and an aeroplane overhead, before live strings glide over 90’s trip-hop-style drums, reaching a heart-rending, percussion-free climax of high-pitched, quivering strings.

Vynehall says that the project has been in the making for four years, and that it is inspired by the experiences of his grandparents, who emigrated to the US from the UK in the 1960s. Following his grandfather’s death, Vynehall’s grandmother showed him old photos and began to tell him stories about their time together in The States. “I felt the need to document this period for her, and it all just sort of snowballed from there,” he said in a press release.

Below, you can see the full tracklist for ‘Nothing Is Still’ and you can stream ‘Envelopes (Chapter VI)’ in full. The album is available for pre-order here.

01. From The Sea/It Looms (Chapters I & II)
02. Movements (Chapter III)
03. Birds On The Tarmac (Footnote III)
04. Julia (Footnote IV)
05. Drinking It In Again (Chapter IV)
06. Trouble – Parts I, II, & III (Chapter V)
07. Envelopes (Chapter VI)
08. English Oak (Chapter VII)
09. Ice Cream (Chapter VIII)
10. It Breaks (Chapter IX)

Ninja Tune will release ‘Nothing Is Still’ on 15th June 2018.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s